Climate Week NYC took place from September 21-27, in coordination with the United Nations General Assembly and the City of New York.

The OA Alliance was proud to host two events alongside partners, Ocean Conservancy, Ocean & Climate Platform and Because the Ocean Initiative.  Our two events help meet our collective goals, ensuring that climate and ocean commitments, policies and communications accurately reflect their interdependence.

Missed the events, watch here!

U.S. States Leading on Climate-Ocean Action

SEPTEMBER 23   9:00am PST/ 12:00pm EST

 

Hear from leaders who are helping to promote and drive implementation of actions that address the causes of ocean acidification and increase biodiversity, adaptive capacity and resiliency of coastal communities.

Governor Jay Inslee (WA)

U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (RI)

U.S. Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici (OR)

Maryland Department of Environment, Secretary Ben Grumbles

California Natural Resources Agency, Secretary Wade Crowfoot*

Maine Department of Environmental Protection, Acting Commissioner Melanie Loyzim

Hawaii Department of Lands and Natural Resources, Division of Aquatics Administrator, Brian Neilson

 

 

Climate-Ocean Impacts to Food Security and Ocean Economies: Assessing Risk and Leveraging International Climate Frameworks

SEPTEMBER 24
7:00am PST/ 10:00am EST/ 4:00pm CEST

 

2.6 Billion people around the world rely on the ocean for their primary source of protein.   By 2030, the ocean economy is expected to reach US $3 trillion and employ 40 million people.

Hear from governments, impacted industries, communities, and international bodies working to scale the science and suite of actions that will support food security and build a sustainable blue economy for the next several decades.

FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department

Short Film: The Olympic Coast as a Sentinel – Tribal Communities at the Forefront of Ocean Change

Pacific Community

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Chile

International Atomic Energy Agency- Ocean Acidification International Coordinating Center

Ocean and Risk and Resilience Action Alliance

UNFCCC Secretariat